School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Texas State University

This content site features articles and news announcements about our outstanding students, faculty and alumni!

TXST places 1st in AAF District 10 Competition

By Lisa Callahan & Matt Shoewalter The halls of the Overton Hotel and Conference Center in Lubbock roared with the cheers and cries of Team 104 as Texas State University … Continue reading

April 26, 2016 · Leave a comment

Society of Professional Journalists to honor University Star staff

The Society of Professional Journalists will recognize five student-journalists from the University Star at the historic Hilton Hotel in Fort Worth on March 18 and 19 for its Region 8 Mark of Excellence convention. … Continue reading

March 16, 2016 · Leave a comment

SJMC student wins regional award for thesis

As a SJMC graduate student, Venezuelan-born Sergio Carvajal-Leoni, won a campus-wide award for his thesis, the Graduate College’s Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award in Digital Scholarship. Now he has won again, at the … Continue reading

February 16, 2016 · Leave a comment

PRSSA Gala Photos

PRSSA’s Gala was a hit! Over 100 people came out. Seniors Paige Vaughn and Gregory Tate received the Mass Communication Leader of the Year awards. Here’s to looking forward to next … Continue reading

December 9, 2014 · Leave a comment

A Tragedy in West, TX Affects a Texas State Student

By: Olivia Garcia — Kayla Urbanovsky scrolled through her Facebook feed on Feb. 17, 2013 and that evening, she noticed many statuses about a disturbance in her hometown of West, … Continue reading

November 20, 2014 · Leave a comment

Olga Wilson is Inducted into the PRSA College of Fellows

  Texas State University School of Journalism and Mass Communication Senior Lecturer and PR Sequence Coordinator Olga Mayoral Wilson, APR was inducted into the PRSA College of Fellows on Oct. … Continue reading

October 19, 2014 · Leave a comment

Texas State PRSSA Bateman Team wins honorable mention for ‘Be the Difference’

Texas State University’s 2013 PRSSA Bateman Team was one of 16 teams nationally to receive honorable mention for its anti-bullying campaign called “Be the Difference.” Seniors Callie Hill, Rachel David, … Continue reading

April 18, 2013 · Leave a comment