School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Texas State University

This content site features articles and news announcements about our outstanding students, faculty and alumni!

Student media wins 30 awards at annual statewide conference

The University Star, KTSW and Bobcat Update students recently won multiple awards during the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) annual conference held from March 21-24, 2018. The Texas Intercollegiate Press … Continue reading

March 27, 2018 · Leave a comment

Bobcat Promotions gives back to those in need with new effort

By Gabriella Carrizales, Journalism senior Bobcat Promotions wants to make an impact on the community by raising money for natural disaster victims. The first Bobcat Promotions Charity event is April … Continue reading

March 26, 2018 · Leave a comment

Ad Club starts intensive workshops for students

By Paola Esquivel-Oliveros, Journalism senior Texas State University’s Advertising Club is taking a new approach by creating workshops to prepare members for their careers. Ad Club Dalia Hernandez said she … Continue reading

March 24, 2018 · Leave a comment

Congratulations, 2016 CBI National Student Production Awards Winners!

2016 CBI National Student Production Awards Winners We would like to take a moment to congratulate the winners of the CBI National Student Production Awards Competition 2016, which were honored … Continue reading

October 31, 2016 · Leave a comment

TIPA Award Winners 2016

Radio Documentary: 1st place – IPI – “Water Culture” – Taylor Zavala, Leighann Coleman, Carlos Marquez, Laura Aebi Radio Feature Story: 1st place – DaLyah Jones – “Deaf Student Section” … Continue reading

April 5, 2016 · Leave a comment

KTSW Sports interviews Bill Schoening and Bill Land

  Six Texas State students from senior lecturer Larry Carlson’s Sports as News course and the KTSW Sports Dept. staff took a field trip to the home of the five-time … Continue reading

April 2, 2016 · Leave a comment

KTSW to say goodbye to long time station manager

KTSW-FM 89.9, the official radio station of Texas State University, will soon say goodbye to its long time Station Manager, Tara Pohlmeyer. As Station Manager, Pohlmeyer oversees the day to day operations … Continue reading

March 7, 2016 · Leave a comment