School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Texas State University

This content site features articles and news announcements about our outstanding students, faculty and alumni!

Students get inside look at sports broadcasting

Eleven students from the MC4357D Sports Media class visited San Antonio’s AT&T Center (April 12th) for a fieldtrip with the San Antonio Spurs broadcast crew. Mike Kickirillo, Director of Broadcasting and … Continue reading

April 30, 2013 · Leave a comment

Texas State’s 2013 NSAC team wins Best Promotion at AAF 10th District Convention

The National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) team brought home the Judges Special Award for Best Promotion at the American Advertising Federation (AAF) 10th District Convention held April 10 – 13 … Continue reading

April 26, 2013 · Leave a comment

Student media reunion to be held on May 4th

When: Saturday, May 4, 2013 at 6pm Where: LBJSC Ballroom Current and former staff members of Texas State student media organizations are invited to attend a student media reunion on … Continue reading

April 24, 2013 · Leave a comment

KTSW wins awards from Texas Intercollegiate Press Association

The KTSW-FM 89.9 team brought home 5 awards from the 2013 TIPA in Dallas. Winners are: 1st place – Radio Sportscast – Mason Robinson, Weston Warner, Matt Southall 1st place – Radio, … Continue reading

April 21, 2013 · Leave a comment

Texas State PRSSA Bateman Team wins honorable mention for ‘Be the Difference’

Texas State University’s 2013 PRSSA Bateman Team was one of 16 teams nationally to receive honorable mention for its anti-bullying campaign called “Be the Difference.” Seniors Callie Hill, Rachel David, … Continue reading

April 18, 2013 · Leave a comment

Featured Student: Zahra Farah

This upcoming summer will be an eventful one for journalism junior, Zahra Farah. She has earned a spot in the prestigious Chips Quinn Scholar Internship and will be interning at … Continue reading

April 12, 2013 · Leave a comment

SJMC Oganization of the Month: Texas State Ad Club

Meeting times / location: The Ad Club meets every other Tuesday at 7 pm in Old Main 234. Plans for the future: This Spring: Austin Ad Fed Agency Crawl in … Continue reading

April 6, 2013 · Leave a comment